Danville Dashers Win Commissioner’s Cup!

Danville Dashers Win Commissioner’s Cup!











The Danville Dashers are the Federal Hockey League’s Commissioner’s Cup Champions.  They raised the cup last night at the Palmer Arena in front of a crowd of 1,154 local hockey fans.

The scoring started early for the Dashers when Daniel Turgeon slipped the puck between the legs of Berlin goalie Matt Kaludis at 5:57 in the first period.  The Dashers scored two more times in the second period; one from Justin Levac at 6:25, and then another goal from Turgeon with 19-second remaining in the period.  Each team scored in the third.  Brian Soskin for the Dashers at 4:43, and then Berlin got its only goal of the game at 7:15 (John Celli).

Once the final horn sounded, the Dashers all jumped onto the ice and surrounded the winning goalie Louie George before lifting the Commissioner’s Cup.

Gehrett Sargis of the Dashers was named playoff MVP.

The Dashers head coach is Steve Harrison.

This was the first championship for a Danville hockey team since the Danville Wings won the Robertson Cup of the NAHL in 2000, and the original Danville Dashers Continental Hockey League championships in 1982 and 1984.


(Photo courtesy of Jackie Harrison)