Democratic Sweep Fails to Extend to Vermilion County

Democratic Sweep Fails to Extend to Vermilion County

Although Democrats were celebrating a sweep across the top of the ballot in Illinois Tuesday…it was a big night for Republicans in Vermilion County.  Congressman John Shimkus retained his seat by defeating Kevin Gaither.  Republican Mike Marron won the battle to retain his position as State Representative from Illinois’ 104th District.  Marron defeated Democrat Cindy Cunningham by collecting 56-percent of the votes cast.

And Republican Cathy Jenkins easily beat Democrat Mary Catherine Roberson by getting two-thirds of the votes cast for that position.   (Jenkins had 15,242 to 7,962 for Roberson.)

Other Republican winners on Tuesday included Vermilion County Sheriff Pat Hartshorn who now begins his 8th term…Supervisor of Assessments Mathew Long….Vermilion County Regional Superintendent of Schools Cheryl Reifsteck….and County Treasurer Darren Duncan.  They were all running with no opposition.

Also on Tuesday voters in the Carroll Township Fire Protection District voted to have fire trustees elected, rather than appointed, in the future.

At the state level J.B. Pritzker won the governor’s race…Kwame Raoul – another Democrat – defeated Erika Harold of Champaign for Attorney General.  Jesse White will return as Secretary of State, Susana Mendoza was re-elected State Comptroller and Michael Frerichs will continue as State Treasurer.  All of those people are Democrats.

State Senator Chapin Rose and 53rd District State Senator Jason Barickman, won new terms without any opposition.