Candidates Step-Up for School Board Seats

Candidates Step-Up for School Board Seats

Several candidates have filed petitions this week seeking to win or retain school board seats next spring.  Three people have filed for the Danville District 118 Board.  They are Monica Denise Beasley, Gladys Davis and Thomas Miller.  The petitions were filed in the office of Vermilion County Clerk Cathy Jenkins.

The race for the Westville Unit 2 School Board has attracted five candidates so far.  They are Tim McFadden, Robert (Bob) Clifford, Matt Shuey, Paul Shannon and Matt Smith.

Three are running so far in Hoopeston Community Unit District 11.

Those who have filed petitions so far are Lee Cox, Rich Eisenmann and Chris Small.

Others who have filed candidacy petitions at the Vermilion County Clerk’s Office include:

John Gordon – running for the Armstrong Township High School Board 225;

Cheryl Brumett – running for the Bismarck-Henning Unit 1 Board of Education;

Nancy Dalenberg – who has filed for the Georgetown Ridge Farm District 4 Board;

Jessica Bradford and Randy Smith, who are both running for spots on the Oakwood Unit 76 School Board;

Leon Hudson, Shauna Jameson, Melissa Murphy and Jeffrey Edwards, running for the Potomac Unit 10 School Board;

Andrea VanLeer and Martin Birge have filed petitions for the Salt Fork Unit 512 School Board;

And Kay Smoot filed petitions Tuesday to run for the Vermilion Regional Board of School Trustees.

Candidates who are interested in running for school board and other seats next spring have until Monday afternoon to get their petitions filed.