Local Neuhoff Employees Win Statewide Awards

Local Neuhoff Employees Win Statewide Awards

The Illinois Broadcasters Association has announced the winners of statewide Silver Dome Awards.  And some of the winners work on-air for Neuhoff Broadcasting in Danville.

Tom Barnes with ‘Tommy B’s Big Show’ on WDNL – D-102 fm Radio, was selected as the Best Radio Personality for Small Market Radio statewide.

Eric Loy of WDAN 1490 a.m. Radio repeated as Best Sportscaster for Small Market Radio.

News Director Bill Pickett won the 1st Place Silver Dome Award for coverage of last year’s Martin Luther King Jr. March in Danville.  The entry was in the Best Radio Series or Documentary Category.

        Linda Bolton, who hosts the ‘News Makers’ programs on WDAN won first place and a Silver Dome Award for a program focusing on Mental Health, and featuring guests from the Vermilion County Mental Health 708 Board.    

The awards were presented at the Illinois Broadcasters Association Annual Banquet in Springfield Thursday night.   In addition to the 4 statewide first-place awards listed above, the Neuhoff stations in Danville also received some second place ‘Awards of Excellence’.   Those awards went to:

  • Project Ignition – Drive Safe Arrive Safe, a public service campaign on safe driving, with credit to Tom Barnes, Lori Woods, and Maggie Brown.
  • Bill Pickett for his coverage of ‘A Hot Air Surprise’ when an elementary class at Judith Giacoma School in Westville learned it would be the official host of the 2018 Balloons Over Vermilion event.
  • Bill Pickett also won a statewide 2nd place ‘Award of Excellence’ for an entry entitled ‘Searching for Peace’ and telling about efforts to stop the violence in Danville.
  • Mike Hulvey, Michelle Campbell and Tom Barnes won a statewide 2nd Place Award for the ‘March Forth Moments’ announcements heard on WDAN, WDNL and WRHK (K-Rock) Radio.
  • Tom Barnes and Maggie Brown took a 2nd Place statewide award for ‘Tommy & Maggie in the Morning’ in the category of Best Radio Local Broadcast Team.

All of the entries were judged by broadcasters in Colorado.